Mid-20s Malaise

Struggling against the inevitable since 1986!

30 Things: Day 11

My siblings

I have a younger sister and a younger brother. My sister, Alysha, is doing pretty excellently at uni, completing her masters in psychology this year. She and her boyfriend have recently moved to a lovely art deco apartment in a beachside apartment (much to the chagrin of my parents, who think couples shouldn’t live or sleep together before marriage). My brother, Rhys, is in his final year of a business degree. Last year, he took a semester off to go travelling. I met him in Amsterdam and we went from there to Paris and Rome. It was really great to spend that time with him. I moved out of home when I was 17 and he was 14, and we haven’t lived together or seen too much of each other since then, so it was great to reconnect. Alysha and I never had that problem, having lived together in the city for two years.

I’m very lucky: I get on well with both of them. We have similar senses of humour, and are frustrated by the same things about our parents. Of course, this can create an us-versus-them mentality at times, but it’s good to know we’ll be on the same side when my parents get older. My mum’s family argue quite a lot over how to care for my aging grandmother; I’m sure Alysha, Rhys and I will be able to put up a unified front.

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

Leave a Reply

