Mid-20s Malaise

Struggling against the inevitable since 1986!

Ugens Sang: Garbage – Push It

Last week, Shirley Manson announced that she her defunct (well, on hiatus) band Garbage were back in the studio, recording their fifth album.

Be still, my beating, teenage heart!

Garbage were my favourite band as a teenager. (And, if you’re going by my Last.FM stats, they still are.) I’ve become less strident in my defense of the band over the years: I do think they’re an important yet underrated band, but I also realise they came along at a point in my life when I was just waiting to discover something. I was a weird, loud kid, from a conservative, religious family: it was only a matter of time before I fell into the wicked clutches of rock and roll. (I still remember my dad standing in the middle of my bedroom and looking lost with Garbage’s Not My Idea playing on the stereo; “When did my little boy start listening to rock and roll?” he wondered aloud.)

Anyway, Garbage blew my little brains out. Noisy debut album opener Supervixen occasionally lapses into silence; the band sampled sheets of corrugated iron; they fused pop, grunge and electronic music in a way that proved to be remarkably prescient (their second album, Version 2.0, was the first major label album recorded entirely on ProTools, which I think demonstrates how forward-thinking they were). But, most importantly, they were fronted by Shirley Manson, a gorgeous and terrifying human being. If you follow the links to the live clips I’ve included in this post, you’ll see why my 12-year-old self might have been entranced.

So, for old time’s sake, this week’s ugens sang is Push It, the lead single from Version 2.0. It was released just as I was getting into the band. I bought the single, and then stayed up late to watch the video clip on Rage.

Not my best idea.

An over-tired pre-teenager, watching creepy shit like this at 1am? Yikes. It’s a fantastic clip that still looks great today, but those plague children haunted my dreams for months.

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

One Response

Leave a Reply

