Mid-20s Malaise

Struggling against the inevitable since 1986!

Ugens Sang: Viktorious – When We Were 10

All of my songs-of-the-week have been of the campy electro-pop variety, so I wanted to do something a bit different this week.

But then I heard this song.

You guys, it’s amazing.

It comes from Sweden, so you know what to expect: soaring synths, a Eurodance pulse, and some barely broken English. (His use of “losing” as a noun gets added to the list of Reasons I Want To Bundle Up All Of Scandinavia And Clutch It To My Bosom.) But, like countrymates the Sound of Arrows, this bittersweet song just has something extra, something special.

After you picked yourself up from the floor after being crushed by excellence, you might have noticed the song didn’t have a video clip. Which is devastating, as that poppers o’clock chorus is just screaming for a snappy dance number. Never fear: the man has posted a “teaser” of his next video clip, and it looks amazing. The song sounds great, I love the tentacles-and-ink imagery and, let’s be honest, Viktor Norén is a very sexy man. Look at those lips.

We’re / so / scandalous

Filed under: Uncategorized,

2 Responses

  1. James says:

    And I’m currently loving the brother, Carl, who is also very good.

    http://blogg.svt.se/psl/2010/9/20/musik-med-carl-noren/

    • liamliamliam says:

      Tack!

      I really like that, especially as I’m a sucker for a glockenspiel and a harmonica, and that’s the first time I’ve seen them combined in a song.

Leave a Reply

