Mid-20s Malaise

Struggling against the inevitable since 1986!

Opskrift: Banana bread

Banana bread was, at a certain point, my main reason for living. When I worked my first office job, I started at 7.00 every morning. Ugh. I decided I needed some extra sleep, so I started getting breakfast on my way to work. Most days, to reward myself for getting out of bed before sunrise, I’d get banana bread. Mmh. What a delicious and fattening treat. I did have to reign in my habit when sitting on my arse and eating banana bread every day caused me to gain five kilos in as many weeks, but I still love the stuff. Now, instead of buying the sweet, cake-y type you get in cafes, I make my own.

Delicious.

It’s a great and easy recipe, and quite healthy: mainly flour, eggs, milk and fruit. The only “bad” ingredient is a bit of brown sugar. What I like most about this recipe (apart from its ease) is its versatility. I usually throw in some raspberries (fresh or frozen) and a quarter cup of desiccated coconut, but add whatever you like: blueberries, pear, walnuts, pecans, chocolate chips.

Basic banana bread recipe

Not pictured: eggs.

2 cups self-raising flour (I usually use wholemeal)
1/3 cup brown sugar (the recipe says “firmly packed”, but seriously, the sweetness of the banana and the raspberry I usually add is enough, I usually use a loosely packed 1/4 cup)
1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
2 eggs, lightly whisked
1 cup milk (I use low-fat milk, and use a bit less than the cup it calls for, otherwise it gets a bit gloopy)
1 cup mashed banana (approximately two bananas)
+ whatever else you care to add!

Sift or whisk together dry ingredients.

Gently fold in wet ingredients (this is where I add the raspberries – last, and folded in very gently, or they discolour the batter).

Pour into lined loaf tin and bake for 45 minutes in a 180 degree oven.*

How fucking easy is that? It freezes well (although I suggest cutting it first and freezing each slice individually) and is great with a cuppa any time of day or night.

*Optional step: I usually use two big bananas for the recipe and take two long, diagonal slices out of them to decorate the top. Press them gently into the top of the batter. Especially tasty if you combine a tiny bit of brown sugar with a tiny bit of water and brush it over the top of the banana, so it goes all crisp and toffee-y. I usually re-brush it halfway through the baking so that that banana doesn’t dry out.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , ,

8 Responses

  1. Frances says:

    Blergh, Farmers Best tastes weird.

  2. Iason says:

    Calling this “bread” is atrocious. It’s CAKE Liam.

Leave a Reply

